Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 1133)

ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN AND APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE SPECIAL COMMITTEES UNDER THE BOARD

The Board of Directors (the "**Board**") of Harbin Electric Company Limited (the "**Company**") hereby announced that, a Board meeting of the Company (the "**Board Meeting**") was held at Harbin, Heilongjiang Province, the People's Republic of China on 26 May 2017, for the election of Mr. Si Ze-fu as the Chairman of the Company and the appointment of members of the special committees under the Board.

ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

On the Annual General Meeting of the Company held at 26 May 2017 (the "AGM"), Mr. Si Ze-fu was appointed as the executive director of the Company. Subsequent to the AGM, the Company held the Board Meeting to approve the election of the Chairman of the Company, whereas Mr. Si Ze-fu was elected as the Chairman of the Company. His term of office will commence on the date of this announcement, and will expire at the end of term of the Board. He will not receive any remuneration from the Company.

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE SPECIAL COMMITTEES UNDER THE BOARD

The appointment of the members of the special committees under the Board was also approved on the Board Meeting. The membership information of the special committees on which each Board member serves is as follows:

Committee Director	Strategy Development Committee	Audit Committee	Remuneration Committee	Nomination Committee
Si Ze-fu				chairman
Wu Wei-zhang	chairman			
Zhang Ying-jian	member			
Song Shi-qi			member	
Liu Deng-qing		chairman		member
Yu Wen-xing	member	member	chairman	
Hu Jian-min	member			member
Zhu Hong-jie		member	member	

By Order of the Board Harbin Electric Company Limited Ai Li-song Company Secretary

Harbin, PRC 26 May 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Company are Mr. Si Zefu, Mr. Wu Wei-zhang, Mr. Zhang Ying-jian and Mr. Song Shi-qi; and the independent nonexecutive directors of the Company are Mr. Liu Deng-qing, Mr. Yu Wen-xing, Mr. Hu Jianmin and Mr. Zhu Hong-jie.