Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



HARBIN ELECTRIC COMPANY LIMITED

(formerly known as Harbin Power Equipment Company Limited) (A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock code: 1133)

> *(incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)* Stock Code : 1133

ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN, VICE CHAIRMAN, APPOINTMENT OF MEMBER OF SPECIAL COMMITTEES OF THE BOARD AND APPOINTMENT OF PRESIDENT, VICE PRESIDENTS AND COMPANY SECRETARY

The Board announces that the first meeting of the seventh Board of the Company was held at the Meeting Room at the Headquarters on 5 January 2013 at 10:00 a.m. to elect Mr. Gong Jing-kun and Mr. Zou Lei as chairman and vice chairmen of the Company, respectively; determine the establishment of four special committees of the Board and appoint the members of each of the committees; appoint Mr. Wu Wei-zhang as president of the Company; appoint Mr. Shang Zhong-fu, Mr. Zhang Hai-quan, Mr. Liu Zhi-quan, Mr. Han Jian-wei and Mr. Qu Zhe as vice presidents of the Company; and appoint Mr. Gao Xuguang as company secretary. The aforesaid businesses will be effective from the date of this announcement.

Notice is hereby given by Harbin Electric Company Limited that the first meeting of the seventh Board of the Company was held at the Meeting Room the Headquarters, Block B, 39 Sandadongli Road, Xiangfang District, Harbin, Heilongjiang Province, PRC on 5 January 2013 at 10:00 a.m. The following businesses were approved at the meeting:

- 1. To elect Mr. Gong Jing-kun and Mr. Zou Lei as chairman and vice chairmen of the Company, respectively;
- 2. To establish four special committees of the Board and appoint the members of each of the committees:

Members of the Strategy Development Committee: Zou Lei, Sun Chang-ji, Wu Weizhang, Shang Zhong-fu, with Zou Lei being the chairman;

Members of the Audit Committee: Liu Deng-qing, Yu Bo, Zhang Ying-jian, with Liu Deng-ging being the chairman;

Members of the Remuneration Committee: Sun Chang-ji, Yu Bo, Song Shi-gi, with Sun Chang-ji being the chairman;

Members of the Nomination Committee: Jia Cheng-bing, Liu Deng-qing, Shang Zhong-fu, with Jia Cheng-bing being the chairman.

- 3. To appoint Mr. Wu Wei-zhang as president of the Company;
- 4. To appoint Mr. Shang Zhong-fu, Mr. Zhang Hai-quan, Mr. Liu Zhi-quan, Mr. Han Jianwei and Mr. Qu Zhe as vice presidents of the Company;
- 5. To appoint Mr. Gao Xu-guang as company secretary, and appoint Mr. Tong Da-zhao to assist Mr. Gao.

The aforesaid business will be effective from the date of this announcement.

By order of the Board **Harbin Electric Company Limited**

Gao Xu-Guang

Company Secretary

Harbin, PRC, 6 January 2013

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors of the Company are Mr. Wu Weizhang and Mr. Shang Zhong-fu; the non-executive directors are Mr. Gong Jing-kun, Mr. Zou Lei, Mr. Zhang Ying-jian and Mr. Song Shi-qi; and the independent non-executive directors are Mr. Sun Chang-ji, Mr. Jia Cheng-bing, Mr. Yu Bo and Mr. Liu Deng-qing.