

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China) (Stock Code: 1133)

POLL RESULT OF THE EXTRAORDINARY GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 3 JUNE 2010

Reference is made to the announcement of Harbin Power Equipment Company Limited (the "Company") dated 9 April 2010 and the circular of the Company dated 19 April 2010 (the "Circular"). Unless otherwise defined herein, terms used herein shall have the same meanings as those defined in the Circular.

The Company announce that the ordinary resolution for approving the transactions contemplated under the Financial Services Framework Agreement and the Annual Caps in respect of the receipt of Depository Services by the Group from the Finance Company [was not passed] by way of poll at the EGM held on 3 June 2010. Mr. Xing Yichun being an accountant of Yuehua CPA Limited, was appointed as the scrutineer for the purpose of vote-taking at the EGM. The result of the poll on the ordinary resolution is as follows:

Ordinary Resolution	Number of votes - Shares (% of total number of Shares present and voted at the EGM)	
	For	Against
To approve the transactions contemplated under the Financial Services Framework Agreement and the Annual Caps in respect	52,261,024	97,475,935
of the receipt of Depository Services by the Group from the Finance Company	34.90%	65.10%

As at the date of the EGM, the Company had 1,376,806,000 Shares in issue. As disclosed in the Circular, each of Harbin Electric and its associates has abstained from voting on the relevant resolutions to be proposed at the EGM. To the best of the directors' knowledge, information and belief having made all reasonable enquiry, Harbin Electric and its associates holds an aggregate of 701,235,000 Shares as at the date of this announcement.

Accordingly, the total number of Shares entitling the Independent Shareholders to attend and vote for or against the above ordinary resolution at the EGM was 675,571,000 Shares (representing approximately 49.07% of the issued share capital of the Company). There were no shares entitling the holder(s) to attend and vote only against the above ordinary resolution at the EGM.

By Order of the Board Harbin Power Equipment Company Limited Ma Sui Company Secretary

3 June 2010, Harbin, PRC

At the date of this announcement, the Executive Directors of the Company are Mr. Gong Jingkun, Mr. Zou Lei, Mr. Duan Hong-yi, Mr. Wu Wei-zhang and Mr. Shang Zhong-fu; and the Independent non-executive Directors are Mr. Sun Chang-ji, Mr.Jia Cheng-bing, Ms. Li He-jun, Mr. Yu Bo and Mr. Liu Deng-qing.