Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1133)

## **CLARIFICATION ANNOUNCEMENT**

In the announcement < NOTICE OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING> made by the Company on 18 Mar 2012, "Brief particulars of Mr. Bai Shao-tong" was half-baked. The Company hereby clarifies that the content as follows:

Brief particulars of Mr. Bai Shao-tong:

Mr. Bai Shao-tong, 49 years old, born in February, 1963, is a graduate of Northeast China Institute of Electric Power holding a bachelor's degree in engineering. He is a senior engineer and a member of the China Communist Party. He was the deputy head and head of the power station department of the Electric Machinery Bureau under the Ministry of Electric Power Industry, manager of the power station equipment department and deputy general manager of中國華電電站裝備工程(集團)總公司(China Huadian Power Station Equipment Engineering Group Corporation), deputy general manager and general manager of 中國華電工程(集團)總公司(China Huadian Engineering CO., LTD), and general manager of Jiangsu branch of China Huadian Corporation. Mr. Bai has been a standing committee member appointed by the China Communist Party and a secretary of the disciplinary committee of Harbin Electric Corporation and the Company (Harbin Electric Company Limited) since December 2011. The Harbin Electric Corporation is controlling shareholder.

The remuneration of Mr. Bai is payed by Harbin Electric Corporation. Mr. Bai's term will be effective from the approval date of the ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING to 11 December 2012. Mr. Bai holds no shares of the Company.

By Order of the Board Harbin Electric Company Limited Liu Zhi-quan Company Secretary

30 Mar 2012, Harbin, PRC

As at the date of this announcement, the non-executive directors of the Company are Mr. Gong Jing-kun, Mr. Zou Lei and Mr. Duan Hong-yi; the executive Directors are Mr. Wu Wei-zhang and Mr. Shang Zhong-fu; and the independent non-executive directors are Mr. Sun Chang-ji, Mr. Jia Cheng-bing, Ms. Li He-jun, Mr. Yu Bo and Mr. Liu Deng-qing.