Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



HARBIN ELECTRIC COMPANY LIMITED

(formerly known as Harbin Power Equipment Company Limited) (A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock code: 1133)

> *(incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)* Stock Code · 1133

POLL RESULTS OF THE EXTRAORDINARY GENERAL MEETING **HELD ON 5 JANUARY 2013** AND RETIREMENT OF DIRECTORS AND SUPERVISOR

The Board announces that all the resolutions set out in the Company's "NOTICE OF EXTRAORDINARY GENERAL MEETING" dated 12 November 2012 were duly approved by the shareholders at the Extraordinary General Meeting by way of poll. The Board announces that Ms Li He-jun retired as independent non-executive director, Mr. Duan Hong-yi retired as non-executive director, and Mr. Gao Xu-guang retired as supervisor at the conclusion of this Extraordinary General Meeting.

RESULTS OF THE EXTRAORDINARY GENERAL MEETING

The Company hereby announce the results of the Extraordinary General Meeting held at the Meeting Room at the Headquarters, Block B, 39 Sandadongli Road, Xiangfang District, Harbin, Heilongjiang Province, PRC on Saturday, 5 January 2013 at 9:00 a.m. Mr. Gao Xiang-jun of Crowe Horwath CPA Co., Ltd., was appointed as the scrutineer at the EGM for the purpose of overseeing the whole process of voting. The poll results in respect of the ordinary resolutions purposed are as follows:

No.	Ordinary Resolutions	Number of Votes (% of total number of Shares present and voted at the meeting)	
		For	Against
1	Appoint Mr. Gong Jing-kun as non-executive director of the seventh Board of Directors of the Company and he will not receive any remuneration from the Company;	925,394,276 98.82%	11,028,000 1.18%
2	Appoint Mr. Zou Lei as non-executive director of the seventh Board of Directors of the Company and he will not receive any remuneration from the Company;	923,366,276 98.61%	13,056,000 1.39%
3	Appoint Mr. Zhang Ying-jian as non-executive director of the seventh Board of Directors of the Company and he will	923,366,276 98.61%	13,056,000 1.39%

	not receive any remuneration from the Company;		
	company,		
4	Appoint Mr. Song Shi-qi as non-executive director of the seventh Board of Directors of the Company and he will not receive any remuneration from the Company;	923,366,276 98.61%	13,056,000 1.39%
5	Appoint Mr. Wu Wei-zhang as executive director of the seventh Board of Directors of the Company and he will not receive any director remuneration;	923,366,276 98.61%	13,056,000 1.39%
6	Appoint Mr. Shang Zhong-fu as executive director of the seventh Board of Directors of the Company and he will not receive any director remuneration;	851,728,070 90.96%	84,694,206 9.04%
7	Appoint Mr. Sun Chang-ji as independent non-executive director of the seventh Board of Directors of the Company with annual remuneration of RMB 100,000 to RMB 150,000;	935,126,276 99.86%	1,296,000 0.14%
8	Appoint Mr. Jia Cheng-bing as independent non-executive director of the seventh Board of Directors of the Company with annual remuneration of RMB 100,000 to RMB 150,000;	935,126,276 99.86%	1,296,000 0.14%
9	Appoint Mr. Yu Bo as independent non-executive director of the seventh Board of Directors of the Company with annual remuneration of RMB 100,000 to RMB 150,000;	935,126,276 99.86%	1,296,000 0.14%
10	Appoint Mr. Liu Deng-qing as independent non-executive director of the seventh Board of Directors of the Company with annual remuneration of RMB 100,000 to RMB 150,000;	935,126,276 99.86%	1,296,000 0.14%
11	Appoint Mr. Bai Shao-tong as Supervisor Representing Shareholders of the seventh Supervisory Committee of the Company and he will not receive any remuneration from the Company;	935,126,276 99.86%	1,296,000 0.14%
12	Appoint Mr. Chen Gguang as Supervisor Representing Shareholders of the seventh Supervisory Committee of the Company and he will not receive any supervisor remuneration from the Company;	869,321,079 92.83%	67,101,287 7.17%
13	Appoint Mr. Xu Er-ming as independent supervisor of the seventh Supervisory Committee of the Company with annual remuneration of RMB 100,000 to RMB 150,000.	935,126,276 99.86%	1,296,000 0.14%

The aforesaid directors and supervisors hold office for a term of three years with immediate effect.

RETIREMENT OF DIRECTORS AND SUOERVISOR

The Board wishes to announces that Ms Li He-jun retired as independent non-executive director, Mr. Duan Hong-yi retired as non-executive director, and Mr. Gao Xu-guang retired as supervisor at the conclusion of this Extraordinary General Meeting. The aforesaid persons have confirmed that they have no disagreement with the Company and there are no other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company. The Company wishes to thank them for their contribution to the Company.

As at the date of the EGM, the Company had 1,376,806,000 Shares in issue. The number of shares entitling the Shareholders and proxies to vote at the EGM were 936,422,366. No

Shareholder has abstained from voting at the EGM according to the Listing Rules. There were no shares entitling the holder to attend and vote only against the above resolutions at the EGM.

By order of the Board **Harbin Electric Company Limited**

LIU Zhi-quan

Company Secretary

Harbin, PRC, 6 January 2013

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors of the Company are Mr. Wu Weizhang and Mr. Shang Zhong-fu; the non-executive directors are Mr. Gong Jing-kun, Mr. Zou Lei, Mr. Zhang Ying-jian and Mr. Song Shi-qi; and the independent non-executive directors are Mr. Sun Chang-ji, Mr. Jia Cheng-bing, Mr. Yu Bo and Mr. Liu Deng-qing.