Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1133)

## ANNOUNCEMENT

## RESIGNATION OF CHAIRMAN, NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND CHAIRPERSON OF NOMINATION COMMITTEE

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of Harbin Electric Company Limited (the "Company") hereby announced that, in accordance with the decision of the state cadre administration department, Mr. Gong Jing-kun ("Mr. Gong"), the chairman of Harbin Electric Corporation, the controlling shareholder of the Company, and the chairman and non-executive director of the Company, will cease to be the chairman and the party secretary of Harbin Electric Corporation due to other appointments. In addition, Mr. Gong has accordingly tendered to the Company his resignation from the position of chairman, non-executive director and chairperson of nomination committee of the Company. The resignation will become effective once the new chairman is appointed. The Company will make further disclosure as and when appropriate in accordance with the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

Mr. Gong confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board, and there is no other matter in relation to his resignation which has to be brought to the attention of the securities holders of the Company.

The Company would like to express its sincere gratitude to Mr. Gong for his outstanding contribution to the Company and the Board during his tenure as chairman.

By order of the Board Harbin Electric Company Limited Gao Xu-guang Company Secretary

Harbin, PRC 9 January 2015

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors of the Company are Mr. Wu Wei-zhang, Mr. Zhang Ying-jian, Mr. Song Shi-qi and Mr. Shang Zhong-fu; the nonexecutive director of the Company are Mr. Gong Jing-kun and Mr. Zou Lei; and the independent non-executive directors are Mr. Yu Bo and Mr. Liu Deng-qing.